Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    harshmodi Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2006, 02:17 AM
    F1 -> H1B, resident/dual-status contradiction
    Hi All. This is my first time in this forum.
    Though I have read a lot of the threads, this question is still controversial.

I am on the same boat as a lot of the others. I was on OPT from June 27 to Sep 30, and on H1B from Oct 1 to Dec 31. However, there is a contradiction with the Sticky Note.

http://www.thetaxguy.com/residency.htm
    This is Dr. Carter's page.

On this page, if you go to the dual status alien section, you will find this as an example of Dual Status Alien.

When you hold a J, F, M or Q visa during part of the year, but later change to an H visa or other status eligible to use the substantial presence test, and pass the test

This contradicts how the sticky note quotes Dr. Carter. I am very curious to answer the following questions:

(1) I paid school tuition in 2005. I want to take a deduction or an education credit for that. I earned less than 53k (or whatever) in 2005.
    (2) Standard deduction.

It seems I can't get (1) unless I file as a resident alien, and I can't get (2) unless I file as a resident or non-resident alien. Is there any special provision for Indians in this situation (which I'm sure applies to a lot of people on the forum).

Comments/Suggestions welcome, especially from Atlanta Tax Expert in case I have missed some intricacy.
    Thanks!
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 12, 2006, 07:10 AM
    That is a contradiction, one I will address to Dr Carter after the end of the tax season. We are both too busy to address it now.