Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Lollypops Posts: 18, Reputation: 2

Jul 29, 2008, 07:04 AM
    Potential love interest or is he?
    Not sure if I am posting to the right categorie, since it's my first time.. Here goes,

I met this guy Jason at work. He was going through an expected divorce. We became friends, just hung out went to dinner, movies, etc. I was just a very supportive friend with no romantic feelings involved, plus he was an emotional mess - so I was just a very good friend. We went out to the movies, dinner, etc.. anything to keep his spirits up during his difficult time. We even had a few side jobs doing landscaping together.

Well, during that time we hung out together, we developed strong feelings for one another. Nothing happened though. After one year later, he decided to go on a blind date. I was surprised, even a little jealous. I didn't mention anything to him, just continued to be a very good friend.

One day I asked him how come he never looked at as a potential love interest. He responded with "I don't want to wreck the friendship we already have". I agreed, but was still disappointed.

The more we hung out together as friends the more our feeling became stronger.. BUT he was not ready for anything serious, so I decided that I wanted more of a life then wait around for Jason to be ready. I started a new job and met Ric, we laughed all the time together. He asked me out on a date and I agreed. I never once stopped be friends with Jason. I hung out with him as well, but new that he was not ready to start anything anytime soon.

So, I started dating Ric and had a great time with him.

Once Jason started to realize that I was interested in Ric and had feelings for him, Jason told me that he could not and was not ready to start a relationship with me, but would try for me. I told him that if he was not ready, it would not be fair.

I would want him because he wanted to be there not wanting me because someone else was interested.