Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kevinonline Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 8, 2006, 02:10 AM
    How should a h1-b holder file tax return?
    I got hi-b visa and arrived and worked in New York at November 1,2005.
    How should I file tax return? How many kinds of taxes should I pay? Which forms should I use?
    I only know the deadline of 2005 income tax return is July 17,2006.
    Thank you very much.
    kevinonline Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 8, 2006, 02:23 AM
    I am new in USA and here, I need help.
    vaya Posts: 55, Reputation: 1

Apr 8, 2006, 04:53 AM
    The deadline is April 17, Not July. Most likely you'll need to pay only income taxes. You'll need to use either 1040 or 1040NR.

Were you an F-1 student before you got H1B? When did you come to the US?

Vaya
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 9, 2006, 07:12 AM
    You will file Form 1040NR (as a non-resident alien), because you have not qualified for the Substantial Presence Test.

You may have the option of filing as a resident alien, but you will have to wait until July 2006 to file (you will need to file for an extension using Form 4868).

What country are you from and how much did you make in 2005?

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Can I file New York State Tax Return as Non Resident ? [ 16 Answers ]

Hello, I'm looking for some advice about my state tax return. Thank you in advance for whoever can provide some guidance. I'm a french citizen and arrived in New York under a J-1 visa in July 2004. I filed as non resident for my 2004 tax return. In October 2005, I obtained the H1-B status....

Do I need to file for State Tax return? [ 8 Answers ]