Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Betatheta9 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jul 26, 2008, 01:19 PM
    US-Belgium Tax Exemption Treaty in GA
    Hi,

I am a citizen of Belgium and as such, I am entitled to a tax exemption of up to $9000/year. Currently, I'm a Purdue student, however I am doing an internship in GA. Now I have a few questions about the treaty.

I asked my financial advisor at Purdue and well, I know for a fact I'll get a full tax refund on my federal taxes. However, my advisor was unsure whether Georgia followed the federal lead on tax exemptions or not. So my first question is, will I get a tax refund on my Georgia taxes?

Something that surprised me was the fact that I had to pay FICA OASDI and Medicare. My financial advisor agreed I should not have to pay those since I am a student. I tried arguing with my firm, but no to avail. But nonetheless, my second question is can I get a return of FICA?

My third question (and this is not that important as it doesn't make a difference either way) is does the $9000 exemption include both federal and state taxes? With that I mean, do I get a $9000 tax exemption on my federal taxes AND a $9000 exemption on my state taxes?
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jul 26, 2008, 08:47 PM
    You did not tell what visa you are holding.
    1. Every one on J1 is exempt from residency (and FICA taxes) for two years.
    2. Every one on F1 is exempt from residency (and FICA taxes) for two years.
    Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents

I am not sure if the exemption amount is $9000. Read IRS publcation 901: Tax Treaties, page 19, col. 1 for Belgium at Internal Revenue Service.

States do not follow federal tax treaties.

Jul 26, 2008, 09:08 PM
    Sorry about that, I am a F-1 student.
    And yes, the exemption amount is indeed $9000. I checked it on IRS publication 901.