Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    harkmut Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 22, 2008, 01:14 PM
    CAN Creditor freeze/Levy bank account that is not Mine?
    I am a POA/Agent on a bank account. I am NOT the account holder, and I am just an agent to execute transactions on the bank account. The Bank account actually belongs to my mother (not my wife)
    Can IRS or a Creditor who has obtained a judgement on me Levy this account even I am not an account Holder?
    0rphan Posts: 1,282, Reputation: 240
    Ultra Member

Jul 22, 2008, 01:32 PM
    Hello Harkmut,

This account is in your Mothers name, therefore all monies held in this account belong to your Mother.

The creditor has no claim on any other assets, be it money or belongings, unless they are your personal possesions only.

The fact that you are an agent leads me to believe perhaps your Mother is elderly or maybe disabled, in which case, she needs some one to carry out her instruction regarding her affairs, however you would not have access to her bank acccount... regarding cash withdrawels with out her consent or signature.

So the fact remains that it is her money and not your own... therefore no one else has any claim on it, least off all, your creditors.

Jul 22, 2008, 02:05 PM
    THANK YOU Orphan for your answer!
    I am an agent/power of attorney to my mother's account- I am to carry out her transactions annd I can sign for checks and withdraw mony from this account. She is elderly and she prefers to deal with less in life.
    Being that I can withdraw money, can the creditor still take out money or freeze/levy this account? Once again, it's NOT a joint account and I am Not an account holder, mom is the sole account holder.THANKS!!
    0rphan Posts: 1,282, Reputation: 240
    Ultra Member

Jul 23, 2008, 03:07 AM
    Hi harkmut,

I did the same for my Mum.