Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    007iryder Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 16, 2008, 11:05 PM
    Salary dispute
    I work on a contract for a parastatal company in South Africa. There was never room for salary negotiations but I disagree with the amount I am being paid. What is the process to dispute this salary. I have been working since 2006
    jakester Posts: 582, Reputation: 165

Jul 17, 2008, 05:25 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by 007iryder
    I work on a contract for a parastatal company in South Africa. There was never room for salary negotiations but I disagree with the amount I am being paid. What is the process to dispute this salary. I have been working since 2006
    It's hard to imagine that there is never room for salary negotiations but if you are part of a contract, let's say for a labor union (as an example), you're going to get paid a contracted amount that usually is non-negotiable or contingent on the type of expertise you have (a carpenter might make more than a cement mixer). In most cases, though, salary is negotiable, it's just that most times people either take what is put on the table or they don't have the dapperheid to ask for more.

If you truly believed that the salary was non-negotiable, I don't think you'd be upset about what you are being paid now. What strikes me is that you seem to be frustrated with your current salary probably because you know you could've gotten more. And unless you were really desperate for work, you might have just looked elsewhere; but if you really needed the job, you might have to settle for what you have or start looking again.

After all, you've been working for this company for two years now so it's hardly likely that you'd have any recourse now... except that you approach your boss and plead your case as to why you think you're worth more.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jul 17, 2008, 05:41 AM