Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    movie_maker Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 29, 2006, 06:39 PM
    Reporting interest income on 1040NR-EZ
    Hi ATE,

I have read most of tax related topics in this forum and I feel this is a very helpful forum. I need your advise on my status:

I was a student until April-2005 (Originally I came on F-1 status in Aug-01), my OPT was started in May-05 and I got job in August-05, my H1-B start date is Sept-05 but in my passport I still have F-1 visa status. I did not have my H1-B stamped yet. So

1)What is my immigration status at the end of 31 Dec 2005?
    2) I have to file my taxes, so can I use 1040NR-EZ and 8843 forms as I am NR and can take advantage of India-Tax treaty?
    3) I have also received 1099-INT INTEREST INCOME form in the amount of $25 from my bank. Is there a way to show this interest income on 1040NR-EZ form? Or Do I need to fill separate form for this interest income and if yes where can I get this form?
    4)If I fill this 1099-INT form then still will I be eligible for 1040NR-EZ?

Thanks a lot in advance
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 30, 2006, 11:34 PM
    1) H-1B, but, tax-wise, it makes no difference.

2) Yes.

3) No, you need to use Form 1040NR.

4) No.
    movie_maker Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 31, 2006, 07:23 PM
    Thanks a lot ATI.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 1, 2006, 02:40 PM
    Glad to help!

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Reporting inheritance for taxes [ 5 Answers ]