Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jduke44 Posts: 407, Reputation: 44

Mar 29, 2006, 05:38 PM
    Adding customer
    I have been learning and building an ms access database. There version is 2002. I have all my tables built and the forms built. I wanted to be able to add a customer so that it would get included in a drop down box. I can add it the problem is I have to close the form and reopen it so I can see it in the list. Would I have to add code to get this to update automatically or is there something within the properties? Thanks.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 4, 2006, 06:36 AM
    You need to requery the combobox after you add the customer. The code would be:

Me.comboboxname.requery

But where you put it depends on your work flow.

Apr 7, 2006, 03:04 PM
    Scott, thanks for responding. As you know I am just learning Access so bare with me. I uderstand I am vague in what my project is but when you say to add the code you provided are talking to place it in an event procedure?

If so what would be my choices? Would I add it under the event tab where it has After Update and so forth. The I would want to build a code? I tried it in different places but it didn't work. I want to learn this on my own (with a little help) so doing it wouldn't be beneficial but if you point me in the right direction, I'm sure I can figure it out. Thanks for your time.

Apr 7, 2006, 07:01 PM
    Access is an event driven platform. Code is triggered by events like the update of a control the press of a button, etc. You need to look through the flow of how you are adding a new customer. Somewhere after you add the customer to the table, you need to requery the combo.

Apr 7, 2006, 07:48 PM