Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jc105 Posts: 162, Reputation: 17

Mar 27, 2006, 10:29 AM
    Biking... Questions
    All right, I started riding about two weeks ago. Everyday I do about 5.4 miles of relatively flat riding (In NY, so as flat as it gets). On saturdays I try to do 2 rides. I can do the ride in about 25 minutes on average.

I weigh 205 at 6' and I used to be about 175, but over the last 2 years I stopped most activity. I would like to get back to that weight of 175. Easy questions are, should I try to do a longer ride, if so how long, and what is a reasonable way to break down a good diet.

My main purpose is to drop weight, but I won't do a low/no carb diet because, well, I don't want to give up bread. So any recommendations on good diet ideas would be helpful. I would much prefer some basic rules rather than a diet laid our for me, meal by meal.

JC
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Mar 27, 2006, 10:59 AM
    Cycling 5.4 miles in 25 minutes on flat ground is hardly breaking a sweat.

The secret to losing weight is to burn more calories then take in. It's that simple. So you need to figure out how many calories you normally take in and how many calories you normally burn and make sure the burn is higher.

This site:
    http://k2.kirtland.cc.mi.us/~balbachl/calorie.htm

Gives you some tables on the calories consumed from different actives. A 30 hour on a bike at 10Mph buns less that 300 calories. If you do some research you should be able to find figures on average calories for your foods and other activities.

I'm a active cyclist. I cycle with a club so I generally do rides in the 25-40 mile range at a pace of 10-14 mph. Since you live in NYC you might want to consider joining the Five Boro Bike Club:
    www.5bbc.org

Which runs day trips on weekends in the city.