Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kalafior Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 24, 2006, 08:03 PM
    F-1 in 6th year: res. Or non-res?
    Dear Atlanta Tax Expert,

You have done a wonderful job advising people -- and in particular foreign students and professionals -- on their taxes. I hope my question is not repetitive since I value your time (I have read through all the relevant threads and the specific question does not seem to have been covered already.) So I hope that you can offer a few words of advice.

I am a national of Poland. I came to the U.S. to study at a university on 31 Aug 2000. I was a student until Feb. 2005, when I started OPT. I stayed in the US while working on OPT until 26 Aug 2005. I then returned to Poland, have not re-entered the U.S. since, and do not plan to come again to live in the U.S. in the near future.

My questions:

1) I guess that as a F-1 person (I never switched to any other visa status), I could normally exclude my days of presence as a student/trainee (under OPT.) However, Pub. 519 says "You will not be an exempt individual as a student if you have been exempt as a teacher, trainee, or student for any part of more than 5 calendar years unless you establish that you do not intend to reside permanently in the United States... The facts and circumstances to be considered in determining if you have demonstrated an intent to reside permanently in the United States include, but are not limited to ... whether you have maintained a closer connection to a foreign country." The grammar of this sentence confuses me somewhat (the "have been" refers to what time - the beginning of 2005 or of 2006?) but I guess that since I was a student for part of 2000, 2001,2002,2003,2004 and 2005, I can no longer exempt my days in 2005 (which were above 183) because that was my 6th year? So I should file for 2005 as a resident alien for the first time? Is this right?