Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Grindle Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jun 29, 2008, 05:12 PM
    Fan Mounting Bracket does not fit Electrical box
    I have bought a Habor Breeze Fan to replace an existing older Fan in my kitchen . . . But the "Mounting Bracket" that came with this new Fan, will not fit the ' screw holes' that are in the existing ceiling round Electrical Outlet box, the Habor Breeze Mounting Bracket screw holes are about a half-an-inch or quarter inch wider . . . Is there a smaller Mounting Bracket that I can purchase to fit my existing Electrical Outlet box?

I cannot use the Mounting Bracket from the previous Fan, as it is square and this Habor Mounting Bracket is round, sigh . . . I went over to Lowe's where I purchased it, but the young boys working there, had no solutions, except to go up into the Attic and try to replace the Electrical Outlet box to fit the Fan Mounting Bracket?, :( for goodness sake . . . Even while I have little experience with putting in Fans, I cannot believe that this is not a common problem with older buildings . . .

Is there a smaller Mounting Bracket that I can buy?
    stanfortyman Posts: 5,598, Reputation: 279
    Electrical & Lighting Expert

Jun 30, 2008, 04:49 AM
    For goodness sake, the boys were actually right!

The box SHOULD be replaced with a "fan box". I cannot, and will NOT, legally hang a ceiling fan on a non-fan-rated box.

You say "building"? Is this an apartment?

Jun 30, 2008, 06:03 AM
    Hi there Stan, and thank you for responding.. . Yes, the building is a Duplex, and there was a Ceiling Fan there, I remember when the previous kitchen Ceiling Fan was put up - maybe 9 or 10 years ago and the Mounting Bracket that came with the bOx was used, it is just shaped differently, and there was no downrod, it is I guess - more flush mounted, and the part that fits into the Mounting Bracket is 'square,' where as it is a half-dome-ball shape, that fits into the newer 'round' Mounting Bracket.. .