Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Onewoman Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Mar 22, 2006, 08:46 AM
    Wireless Routers - Complete Novice Here!
    Hi :) All this new technology gives me brain ache! So I would really appreciate the help of someone who understands about wireless routers and networks as I know practically nothing.

Our main computer is a Sony Vaio laptop with XP professional, service pack 2. This computer belongs to work (though we keep it at home) and is on the work network with god knows how many other computers, hundreds probably. We have NTL broadband on this puter.

My daughter has another computer in her room ( I think it has windows 98 on it). We would like for her to be able to share the NTL internet connection and have been told by NTL the only way is to have a wireless router.

My questions are: What kind of router do I need to get? How do I know if I also need to get a network adapter card? Which bit goes to which computer? Will it work as one of the computers is already on another network?

Thanks to anyone who has time to answer any of these questions!
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Mar 22, 2006, 08:58 AM
    First, check the OS on the daugther's laptop. If it is Win 98 you may have a problem with wireless. Many wireless routers require new versions of Windows.

Second, I'm not sure why they say you need a wireless router. I'm assuming here, that you have an NTL Broadband modem in the house that is currently connected directly to the Vaio. You should be able to use either a wired or wireless router depending on whether you want to run an Ethernet cable to where the daughter's PC is. If her OS is older you might want to consider that.