Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    firmbeliever Posts: 2,919, Reputation: 463
    Ultra Member

Jun 18, 2008, 07:58 AM
    Could you explain?
    Ok, here goes..

I composed an answer here to a question,then I clicked "submit answer" button and it took me to this page.

"The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading."

I just did not try again(was not really in the mood to retry posting.Closed only the tab with that question.And closed the laptop but did not shut down.

I came back around 5 minutes later and reconnected to the net,checked new posts etc
    Used the "undo close tab" and a prompt comes up that says if I resend the data it will chang or something to that effect.So I clicked "Go back one page" on that tab.
    I got back to the page with the answer and the answer was still intact.

I am not good with computers and how the web works,but would like to know how it is possible for the answer(not submitted to the Desk) still be there after I closed the tab?Is that stored in my computer or on the net?And if you could explain in laymen terms what really happens when an answer is typed and not submitted?:o

Thanks in advance.
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Jun 18, 2008, 08:02 AM
    Every site has an inbuilt time out period.
    AMHD's is about 15 minutes.

Now there are a couple of ways to avoid the auto time out function.

As you are using Firefox, try opening a new tab to the online members list: ( https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/online.php ).
    This refershes every minute, so keeps your connection to the site alive.

Alternatly try composing longer responses in Notepad or word or some other word processing package.
    Then when done, simply copy & paste it into the reply box.
    Ultra Member

Jun 18, 2008, 08:07 AM
    Thanks Ben,

It is Firefox.

I normally compose long answers in word and then paste the whole answer,but most of the time I just compose right here.