Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    toastisamazing Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jun 14, 2008, 10:56 AM
    Wireless Intertnet Can't Renew IP address
    Hi,
    So I bought a used laptop: it's a Latitude D505 with XP.
    When I try to connect to my wireless internet, which works on my other DELL computer, the symbol in the task bar that it has an excellent connection.
    However, when I go into Internet Explorer, it says that I am not connected to the internet.
    I tried right-clicking on the wireless internet symbol and clicking repair, and it said that it could not renew my IP address.
    What do I do to connect to my internet? Please help! Thank you! :]
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Jun 14, 2008, 11:09 AM
    Sounds like an encryption issue rather than anything else.
    Also check to make sure you wireless adapter is DHCP enabled.

Jun 14, 2008, 11:12 AM
    How do I do that? I'm not very good with computers...
    DaBaAd Posts: 271, Reputation: 36

Jun 14, 2008, 11:15 AM
    IF DHCP enabled, check your router too and see if it will dynamically issue more than 1 IP address. By default the router will issue at least 50 addresses. Also, check to see that you do have a connection by the router. There is a tab on the router's page that allows you to see actual connections of computers connected.

Jun 15, 2008, 11:22 AM
    How do I get to the router's page?
    I'm sorry, but I'm completely computer illiterate
    DaBaAd Posts: 271, Reputation: 36

Jun 15, 2008, 08:21 PM
    The router usually is at address 192.168.1.1... open a browser and type this in and see if you can get into the router software portal... the id is usually admin with a password of blank.

Did it work?

Jun 17, 2008, 07:54 AM
    Yes, it did work, and the DHCP is enabled, but it still does not work
    chuckhole Posts: 850, Reputation: 45

Jun 17, 2008, 03:12 PM