Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ChihuahuaMomma Posts: 7,378, Reputation: 608
    Vision Expert

Jun 12, 2008, 02:01 AM
    Power Cord Works 50% of The Time
    Hi there,

I'm new to this section. This is the first time I have had a problem with my laptop. I have a Dell Vostro 1000. Running Windows ME. I'm not sure if this information is necessary. But I'm having an issue. I plug the laptop into the power supply and that into the wall. It only works 50% of the time. I assume there is a short somewhere... Is there a way to pinpoint the problem? I know its not the outlet that I am using... it's done this all over the house...
    Credendovidis Posts: 1,593, Reputation: 66
    -

Jun 12, 2008, 02:41 AM
    Either this is due to a faulty cable (some wire makes a bad contact) or the power receptical is faulty or makes a bad contact.

Start with getting a replacement cable at any computer store or other electronic applicance outlet. If you take your laptop with you, you do not even have to buy a cable "you can test it out there.
    If it is not the cable, bring your laptop to a service point for laptop repair, as in that case the problem will surely increase in the future.

Success
    Vision Expert

Jun 12, 2008, 02:46 AM
    I cannot afford any of that at the moment... is there a way I can find the problem in the existing one and fix it?

It's only three months old.
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Jun 12, 2008, 06:28 AM
    It's likely in the side that plugs into the computer within a few inches of that end.

While monitoring the charging lamp flex the cord slightly with your fingers and watch the charging lamp. You should be able to locate the break/short.

That done. I've used plugs and connectors with short wires attached from Radio Shack and made repairs soldering and using heat shrink tubing. You MUST pay attention to polarity.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man