Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pjmaas Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 6, 2008, 11:12 AM
    Writing My First Book
    Hi, I am new at this, so please be patient. I am writing my first book, but I have been writing short stories and poems many years. I am 55 years of age. I am currenty writing a book about own experiences dealing with molestation by a neighbor, never telling anyone, the way I handled and survied it, blah blah blah... and am hoping heal not only myself where needed, but to help others heal also. I am thinking that I may want someone to help with the editing as I go along. I am really not sure though. Maybe I am jumping the gun here, so to speak. I welcome any advice.

Thanks so much,

Pam: rolleyes:
    vingogly Posts: 718, Reputation: 105

Jun 7, 2008, 06:02 AM
    I would definitely suggest hiring a good editor to provide you with feedback. You can post a project at Elance or Guru; be sure to hire someone with a portfolio, a good rating, and a number of successful completed projects without complaints.

You're likely to be rejected by publishing houses if you don't have an agent, and getting an agent can be difficult if you don't already have a name. If you're open to considering self-publishing and distribution, Lulu offers both services. Amazon offers a competing service through CreateSpace.

Here's a great list of writing software for both the Mac and Windows (I personally use Scrivener for the Mac for writing the first draft and am very happy with it, and MacJournal for journaling - there's a windows version, WinJournal - click on the MacJournal link).
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Jun 9, 2008, 10:03 PM
    Excellent and very helpful answer above!

Would I be correct in assuming that you will be wanting to sell your book? If I am correct, then here are some additional ideas that I hope might be helpful to you.