Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    TwinkletOes26 Posts: 182, Reputation: 2
    -

Jun 2, 2008, 05:28 PM
    Was this Unprofessionally rue or was I at fault
    I have been job hunting since I graduated in may. I sent an email to the pregnancy center in my town. I asked where do I go to apply for a job position there entry level or above. I saw no where to apply on the site so I asked her if there was a website I should visit or should I come apply in person. Well I got an email back 2 days later saying this :

Dear TwinkletOes(obviously she used my real name but I sont want to give it outon the forum just yet )

Thank you for your interest but there are no paid positions available except for that of the director of the pregnancy center and that position is currently occupied.

Have a great day
    Jennifer The director of the pregnancy center(yes she bolded it)

Now I would not have felt that this letter was unprofessionally rude if she had said that I could volunteer because the site said something about ALWAYS needing volunteers. I would have been willing to volunteer for the summer because that would count as job experience but now after receiving that letter from her I wouldn't want to work for someone like that(especially for no pay). My mama and everyone I have shown the letter to have said the same thing that she was intimidated because I had a bachelors of psychology and she only has a hs diploma and she was afraid I was going to take her job. I would hope that a grown woman who probably has wayyy more job experience than me would not be intimidated by a recent college grad with no relevant job experience to speak of what do you guys think?
    danielnoahsmommy Posts: 2,506, Reputation: 297
    Ultra Member

Jun 2, 2008, 05:30 PM
    I would call her back and tell her you do not wish to have a paid position but that of a volunteer. I bet her attitude will change
    -

Jun 2, 2008, 05:32 PM