Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Dshannon Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 2, 2006, 07:18 AM
    Pre-Menopause: What to Say to Her
    I have been in a stable relationship for the last 6 years, my girlfriend is 40, I'm 38. She appears to be entering a pre-menopausal state where her periods become irregular and she has erratic mood shifts and loss of sex drive. Naturally enough it is dominating her mind now, she fears losing her sex drive altogether, fears that our relationship will suffer as a result.
    I want to support her, first and foremost, I still find her immensely attractive, and I want to let her know that. But I feel like the classic male stereotype that doesn't know how to properly communicate that to her. What should I say, or shouldn't say? What would most women want to hear?
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Mar 2, 2006, 08:27 AM
    Hi,
    Good question, but difficult to answer. I am not a Doctor, nor a Professional... just one who has been married for 29 yrs.
    I really believe the best thing you can do for her is to convince her to see a Doctor. They can explain exactly what is happening, also possibly prescribe some medication that will help with this, relieving some drastic mood swings. The Doctor can also explain about "sex drives", and put her mind at ease.
    Other than that, don't argue with her! You will only make things worse.
    Be supportive, agree with her (even though you might not), and try to keep the peace. Best of luck.
    Chery Posts: 3,666, Reputation: 698
    Gone, But Not Forgotten

Mar 4, 2006, 04:41 AM
    http://obgyn.healthcentersonline.com...enttherapy.cfm

A great big ATTABOY to you for caring enough to ask this question and want to help.

The above link will get you both started in understanding what she will be going through.