Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    syrizz Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 26, 2008, 07:49 PM
    Legal status (student visa) becoming legal resident?
    Hi, I am a legal resident green card holder and have been so for 28 years. I met someone and fell in love and got married. The problem is she is here on a student visa. I would like to know if it is possible for her to obtain legal obtain status. There are a few circumstances that I feel that may affect this. First, I have not applied for my citizenship yet. I lost my green card and therefore did not know my alien number and I learned that is needed for citizenship. I have gone as far as finding my alien number, applied for a new one, and I have gone to the office in Charlotte N.C to get my photo and fingerprints taken after they received my application. As of right now I am still waiting for the new green card. Then I will start my citizenship application. I also may have a problem with that. I was convicted of a felony back in 1993. I was only 16 at the time and I am now 31. After two years of court and many thousands of dollars, I was abel to keep my status and not get deported. I may need to hire a lawyer in applying for citizenship. My wife is here legally on student visa. Her visa expires in August. She really doesn't want to pay for anymore schooling. It's costing her over 12k for two semesters. She wants to use the money to hire a lawyer instead of paying for more schooling. She can't go to school forever. So my question is, can my wife obtain legal status? Should we hire a lawyer? What steps should I take?
    lawanwadee Posts: 3,653, Reputation: 124
    Immigration Expert

May 26, 2008, 08:17 PM
    As a green card holder, if you file petition for adjustment of status now, it will take about 5-6 years for her visa number to become current, which means she has to maintain her legal status during these years.