Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    revert Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 1, 2006, 11:47 AM
    Starting a new lawn
    Looking for some advice about my lawn has I have little experience. We moved into this house recently and would like to have a nice lawn. We live in west Texas, so it's hot and dry. The garden receives very little shade as we're south facing.

I'm attaching an image to show it's current condition. Apparently the soil is pretty decent for this area. All I've really done so far is kill off most of the weeds. Should we be starting anew, tilling etc? Thanks.
    Attached Images

kp42484 Posts: 39, Reputation: 16

Mar 1, 2006, 01:06 PM
    Hi,

I'm not an expert, but I used to live in El Paso, TX, and our lawn was in about the same shape as yours since we lived in the desert! What helped was that I actually had to go and plant grass seed. Our watering times were rationed, but when we were allowed to water the lawn (using sprinklers), we did. We watered it like crazy and sowed grass seed every week or so. To sow the seed, we bought one of those things that look like wheelbarrows. You put th seed in it, and push it, and it distributes the seed as you push it (sorry I don't know the name).

The lawn improved, but the hot sun made for some weak grass because in El Paso, it's sunny all the time. Our neighbors straight out bought some premade turf and laid it, then watered it like crazy. Their lawn was the greenest lawn in the neighborhood, although I can't tell you what they used as turf!

Hope this helps!

Mar 1, 2006, 03:20 PM
    Thanks for the reply. I already have a hybrid Bermuda grass ready and the spreader you mentioned. I guess really what I need to know is should I hire a tiller and until the whole area? When would be best time to start seeding? It's hot here right now, 80 degress but these temps aren't stable at this time of year so the temp may drop back.
    kp42484 Posts: 39, Reputation: 16

Mar 1, 2006, 06:09 PM