Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Dani Braun Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 27, 2006, 08:05 PM
    Employer pays IC's... whenever -- What can we do?
    I am an independent contractor for a medical transcription service. The woman who owns the service that I do most of my work for ALWAYS pays late and I have had several of her checks bounce. She always blames it on something, i.e. her bank messed up her account, oops, she forgot to mail the checks, etc. Since she is not our "employer" but just uses us for contract work, do we have any recourse here? We are supposed to be paid on the 5th and the 20th of each month. I have worked for this service for a year now and have yet to see a check on time. She used to at least MAIL them on the 5th or the 20th but now she almost never does. If I get another check that bounces, I am going to call the police to see if they have any ideas of what I can do. I need some advice here.
    Thanks. Dani
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 28, 2006, 07:19 AM
    Ok, her pay dates are merely her estimated date to issue checks.

You are merely a company doing business with another company, and welcome to the real world on how that works, she could wait 90 days to pay, this is often the case in large companies. If she just does not pay you, you would have to sue her in civil court for the money she owes you.

She may give estimated days, but unless it is in your contract with her to pay on those days, with a penalty if she does not, then she has no real obligation to do so, if she does not want to. Now you would have the right to sue her if she did not ( and it was in writing those were days she would issue a check.

But for example when our company does work for company X. We bill out the work we do every 2 weeks. It is anywhere from 30 to 90 days and once in a while longer before we get paid for the services we bill.