Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    w2contractor Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

May 21, 2008, 08:59 PM
    Limit to per diem
    Hi,

I am a w-2 contractor. My primary residence and family are 60+ miles from home and I maintain an apartment at my work location where I reside for 4 days a week. Right now my company shows part of my income as non taxable per diem. I've hear but have not confirmed that this only last for a year. Is this true? I cannot find any state or federal tax laws or information on this.

Thanks!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

May 21, 2008, 09:09 PM
    You are getting per diem as non taxable income.
    If your expenses are more than that, then you can claim deduction for the difference under employee's business expenses. This is itemized deduction subject to 2% of AGI.
    Read itemized deductions:
    Your U.S. Tax Return: Itemized Deductions

May 21, 2008, 09:12 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by MukatA
    You are getting per diem as non taxable income.
    If your expenses are more than that, then you can claim deduction for the difference under employee's business expenses. This is itemized deduction subject to 2% of AGI.
    Read itemized deductions:
    Your U.S. Tax Return: Itemized Deductions
    That wasn't my question. I asked if there is a one year limit.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

May 21, 2008, 11:16 PM
    No, there is no such limit.
    Only that non taxable per diem is accountable and you must return any excess amount received within a reasonable period.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

May 22, 2008, 10:05 AM
    Actually, I have to disagree with MukatA on this one.

If you receive per diem for more than one year, the IRS will hold that said per diem is NOT a non-taxable reimbursement of expenses, but rather taxable compensation, because your siatuation is no longer considered to be temporary in nature once it exceeds a year.