Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    davetattooboy Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 18, 2008, 10:30 AM
    Sleeping in bed: bad idea or not.
    Me and my girlfriend just got a puppy. She is about 6 weeks old. Is it a bad idea to let her sleep in bed with us, or are we setting ourselves up for disaster later. When I put her in the bathroom for night time she whimpers and whines. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Dave
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

May 18, 2008, 10:58 AM
    I have some experience in this but I don't have any expertise.
    I think you are training the puppy to sleep in your bed but you don't say what breed it is.
    If it is going to become a large dog that you don't want in the bed, the puppy should sleep elsewhere.
    We had a beagle that was a year old when we got her. I don't know where she slept before we got her but she slept with my son when he was 13 to 17, then with us the rest of her life. She didn't cause any problem. When it was cold we would fight over her to get the warmth.
    But we had a St. Bernard before that and he didn't sleep in the bed!
    There are ways to train the dog to sleep elsewhere without the noise. I am sure you will hear from some others here about that. Good luck
    MIRIAMANDLU Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

May 18, 2008, 01:57 PM
    You shouldn't allow it to be in the bed sleeping with you because it will get adapted to your room and in the future it will be hard to change the dogs environment.
    froggy7 Posts: 1,801, Reputation: 242
    Ultra Member

May 18, 2008, 02:41 PM