Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lcer75 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

May 17, 2008, 07:17 AM
    IRS sent back Tax Return: 1040 or 1040NR for aliens?
    I am writing about a problem I am having with the Tax Return that I filed last April (fiscal year 2007).
    I am an Italian citizen, arrived in the US on a J1-Research scholar visa on Sep 4, 2005, to perform research in astrophysics at an institute that is part of a national museum, while enrolled at an Italian university as a PhD candidate. My visit to the US has not been for other purposes but research. At the time of my arrival in the US, in 2005, I was a resident of Italy and I do not have any income besides my US fellowship.

This year, since I had passed the substantial presence test, I filed Form 1040 instead of 1040NR. Since I claimed partial exemption on my 2007 income under the USA-Italy Tax Treaty art. 20 (exemption on income earned until Sep 3, 2007), I also filed Form 8833 to undisclose my benefit position.
    I must notice that my institute provided me with a 1042-S only in 2006 and 2007 (not 2008) and stopped withholding federal taxes from my monthly checks once I passed the substantial presence test. Also, my institute never applied the Tax Treaty exemption, which I just claimed when filling out my tax returns. As a consequence, I do not have any 1042-S, W-2 or similar form for this year tax return.

I have received my 2008 return back from the IRS (both Forms 1040 and 8833), because - they say - it lacks information. They have enclosed a pink sheet "Request for missing information or papers to complete return (international returns)", in which they circled "Form 1040NR" and two options:
    - if you are an individual who is not a US citizen by birth or naturalization, but are a US permanent resident ("resident alien" or "green card" holder), please provide a copy of your US permanent resident visa;