Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    freud1 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

May 17, 2008, 03:49 AM
    Self taught unqualified
    Hi Guys,

Im 24 living in the UK. I have GCSEs and AS levels.

Currently in a dead end job in a call centre.

I am always learning new things and have a lot of skills, but because I have taught myself I have no qualifications of certificates to show for them.

These include, Graphic Design, 3D design and animation, Video Editing, Special Effects, Music Creation.. the list goes on.

Leaving my job or even taking a small cut in wages will mean I need to give up my house that I live in with my long term partner and is not an option.

I have not got the finances to go through a University course which will take 3 years full time education to learn subjects that I already have a good grasp of .

Are there ways of being assessed on skills you already know so that I can sit a private test or compile coursework to be submitted for degree level qualifications?

I am mainly interested in the creative or graphics industry.

I can do ten times more than an average office admin but find it difficult to even get these jobs because I have nothing to prove it.

Any help would be much appreciated.
    ChihuahuaMomma Posts: 7,378, Reputation: 608
    Vision Expert

May 17, 2008, 04:24 AM
    I think your best bet is to apply for those types on jobs in person. Tell them that although you do not have the certificates for the position that you can prove your competency. This is not unheard of, trust me.
    vingogly Posts: 718, Reputation: 105

May 18, 2008, 11:58 AM
    It is going to cost money to get formal credentials even if you find a place that will accept your portfolio as evidence of your competence (why would they do this for free?). Why not instead consider building a graphics career online as a freelancer while you keep your day job?