Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ChihuahuaMomma Posts: 7,378, Reputation: 608
    Vision Expert

May 12, 2008, 11:43 PM
    Optician Interview
    This job is for a front desk person at an Optical practice. Optical experience is preferred. I have five years of experience. I want to know what to do to get this one in the bag. Make it for SURE! I have been on 13 interviews and still no job! Can you believe that?

Another question. How do I let them know how much I am worth? The wage is DOE. I want them to know I want, need, and am worth at least $12 an hour... How do I accomplish this?
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

May 13, 2008, 12:54 AM
    Hello, Mamma!

One thing that I like to do before an interview is find out as much about the company that I can so that I can ask or answer questions of them based upon what I already know. When I go into interviews, I am interviewing them as much as they are interviewing me.

I like to minimize the use of the word "me" or "I" and work things around with words like "we", "us", "together" and "team", so that they know that I am a team player.

You already know some of the questions that would be particular to the field in an interview. It might help us to help you the best, if you would list some of them and how you would typically respond. Maybe there is something that you have been saying as responses that could be put a better way? Don't know...

Asking questions about what's in it for you concerning salary or other things, is not something that you bring up during the interview, unless they ask you. Let them do it when you are chosen as a candidate.

It is late, and I am tired. I'm not sure what you mean by "DOE." Does it mean "dependent upon employment."

You need a job. If you show that you are outstanding and indispensable to an employer, it just might be that you could get a raise in shorter than the usual time.