Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    diddlydudette1 Posts: 23, Reputation: 1

May 9, 2008, 05:30 PM
    I got a job working for company in Maryland but I will be working in SC at home.
    Hi,

I just got a job working for a company in Maryland, yet I will be working remotely at my home in South Carolina. I will be flying up to Maryland maybe once every month or so for a couple of days to show my face. Will I be filing both SC and MD state taxes.

I've never done this before so I'm not quite sure how it all works.

Also, when working at home for a company, do you know what expenses they will cover for me while working at home?. i.e. phone, cable, etc.

My work will be requiring being on the computer for the most part doing desktop publishing/graphic type work.

Thanks so much in advance.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

May 9, 2008, 05:48 PM
    1. If you will not work in Maryland, then your employer should not withhold Maryland taxes and you don't pay Maryland taxes.

2. If you work in Maryland, then you will pay taxes in the Maryland for the period you were in Maryland.
    On your SC tax return, you will report your full income. On SC tax return, you will also claim credit for taxes paid in MD.
    bushg Posts: 3,433, Reputation: 596
    Ultra Member

May 9, 2008, 05:48 PM
    I work at home in 1 state and my employer is in another state.
    I pay state taxes for my home state. My employer pays for my paper, cartridges, internet bill and 1 phone line. My computer, fax machine, printer and cell phone is supplied as well as the upkeep.
    diddlydudette1 Posts: 23, Reputation: 1

May 10, 2008, 05:23 AM
    Thanks! I appreciate your responses.

I do know they will be supplying a laptop with all the software loaded, but I wasn't sure if I should ask (if they don't offer) if they would include phone, cable or whatever else.
    bushg Posts: 3,433, Reputation: 596
    Ultra Member

May 10, 2008, 05:32 AM