Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    CFZD Posts: 385, Reputation: 49

May 9, 2008, 11:17 AM
    Mothers' Day
    I've shopped for Mothers' Day and I also want to cook for her something special.

I know my mum loves steak, however I am not that good at making the steak soft, what are your tips?

Thanks in advance. :)
    iamthetman Posts: 105, Reputation: 8

May 9, 2008, 11:20 AM
    Cook it on a lower temperature and don't cook it for too long!
    progunr Posts: 1,971, Reputation: 288
    Ultra Member

May 9, 2008, 11:23 AM
    It really is a matter of taste but if you marinate the steak with spices, wine, or beer, it will normally come out more tender and flavorful than just throwing it on the grill.

I marinate mine in beer at least overnight, longer at times. Yes, there is a little beer flavor in the steak, but I love it.

Also, let the steak sit out until it gets to room temp before you throw it on the grill.
    Try to avoid turning it many times. Make sure the fire is hot, but not still flaming a lot.
    Throw the steak on the grill, let it sear well on the first side, and cook aprox half the total cooking time needed (this will vary depending on how thick the cut is) then turn it once, and finish up on side two.

I'm sure there are other suggestions, I'm kind of interested in what others suggest as well.

BEEF, IT'S What's FOR DINNER!
    lawanwadee Posts: 3,653, Reputation: 124
    Immigration Expert

May 9, 2008, 12:12 PM
    My answer would be
    • type of meat.. I usually go for tenderloin for recipe that does not call for marinating.. and
    • cooking oil.. in Asian cuisine, people marinate the meat with spices and a little bit of cooking oil, leave it overnight in the refrigerator, then you will get tender, tastier steak.

Here is some ideas:

Easy: Go to grocery store and look for Weber mix "Black Peppercorn".
    You need 1/4 cup of water, 1/4 cup of cooking oil or olive oil and 2 tbsp vinegar.