Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Satira Posts: 7, Reputation: 2

Feb 22, 2006, 10:31 AM
    How Do I Break Into Marketing?
    I have an associates degree in business management.

I was a full time mother for many years working sporadically when I wanted; since then the businesses I have worked for have gone out of business, or the managers have moved on leaving me with no references.

For the past year and a half I've been working for a service company. I started here as a receptionist employed by a temp agency. I've had 3 promotions in that time so I know I'm a good employee. I now work in the accounting department as an accounts payable/receivable manager.

To be blunt, I'm miserable. The salary is significantly below my needs just to pay for room and board. I don't like accounting. I know that my talents and interests lie in marketing and marketing research. However, all the job ads I've looked into for "marketing" turn out to be sales--and 99% of them aren't with legitimate companies.

How do I break into marketing/ marketing research? Is there a way to convey my business degree and experience in accounting to a potential employer that would convince them to take a chance on an excellent employee?
    CaptainForest Posts: 3,645, Reputation: 393
    Ultra Member

Feb 22, 2006, 03:57 PM
    Here is a website to check out for employment:

http://www.monster.ca/ - if in Canada

http://www.monster.com/ - if in USA
    hfoste01 Posts: 12, Reputation: 4

Sep 15, 2007, 09:20 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Satira
    I have an associates degree in business management.

I was a full time mother for many years working sporadically when I wanted; since then the businesses I have worked for have gone out of business, or the managers have moved on leaving me with no references.