Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    CristinaX1981 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 4, 2008, 06:54 PM
    Asbestos in ceiling.
    Hi.

I need an opinion. If you are familiar with the "asbestos in the ceiling" issue, then keep reading (or research it first).

I have been leaving in my current apartment for the past 3 years... and (how ignorant I must have been) I just realized that I have popcorn ceiling in my apartment and that it is know that this type of ceiling contains asbestos. So now I am pissed... at myself for being ignorant... and even more at my landlord for not giving me one piece of warning, notice, something to let me know what I am dealing with. I wish I could just sue her behind.

Can I??
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

May 7, 2008, 10:07 AM
    How old is the apt you are living in? If it was built before 1986 it may contain asbestos in the popcorn ceiling. Don't try to sue unless you are suffering health issues as you will be wasting your time.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

May 7, 2008, 11:59 AM
    I agree with Twinkiedoodle
    If you have no harm/damages then you have nothing to sue for.
    If the popcorn ceiling isn't causing problems then it isn't worth doing anything about. With lead and asbestos it is more likely to be harmful if tampered with such as removing it or if it is flaking. Often they say it is safer to just cover it over with something else than to remove it --like with siding.