Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jiwonstr Posts: 30, Reputation: 1

Apr 30, 2008, 09:18 AM
    Pre-Tax, Roth, or After-Tax
    Which 401(k) plan is the best?

Could you please give me little pro/cons of each of them and which one might be best choice?

I'm new to the 401(k) and don't want to make a bad decision.

Thanks!
    Wildsporty Posts: 445, Reputation: 38

Apr 30, 2008, 12:59 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by jiwonstr
    Which 401(k) plan is the best?

Could you please give me little pro/cons of each of them and which one might be best choice?

I'm new to the 401(k) and don't want to make a bad decision.

Thanks!
    The pre tax 401K reduces your taxes so your net check is larger each month. This means that you pay no taxes on the money you are putting into the pre tax 401K.

It also means that you are not paying the federal and state tax on that money at the end of the year. So if you put 12,000 in your 401K your taxable income is reduced by the 12,000.00

The down side is that when you take the money out you will pay taxes on it. If you are making less money than the taxes will be less . Most people make less after retirement.

The After tax (roth) 401K taxes are taken out so you will not have to pay taxes when you draw the money out at retirement time.

Your net amount will be less with this type of 401K. It is taken out of your net after taxes.

The down side is that you may be paying higher taxes on it now than you would at retirement if you were making less money.

It is a matter of preference, some open both accounts a pretax 401K at work and a roth at a bank or other institution.

If you want more bring home pay than you need to go with the pretax. If you don't want more income right now and would rather not pay taxes on it when you retire than you go with the after tax 401K.