Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    peterzero Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 28, 2008, 02:56 AM
    Very complicated situation.
    I am a F1 International Student and I've been here 6 years. I work on campus and every year I file 1040NREZ and so did this year.

Then I realize that I am considered resident alien and should file 1040 instead. The mind bugging thing is that if I had filed 1040, I could have been eligible to receive the $600 economy stimulus check!

1. Well my first question is: Is it still possible to refile 1040? Using 1040x or something else? Will I still be eligible for the stimulus check?

And that is not it...

Now I also find that on my 2007 W-2 there is no SS wages and medicare, apparently my school had failed to include those on my 6th year and I obviously had failed to notify them as well...

2. So my second question is, if now I file 1040x or something like that, how do I repay the SSW and Medicare? And what else could happen?

I know this is kind of messed up... if you know anything just drop some lines, thank you in advance!

Peter
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 28, 2008, 04:40 AM
    1. After 5-years on F1, you must file resident tax return. So you should file Form 1040X with properly done resident tax return Form 1040EZ or 1040A or 1040; and write amended on the top of the form.

2. About FICA taxes, you need not worry. According to a recent IRS news, even if you file resident return, you are exempt from FICA taxes.
    Read this: Social Security Tax / Medicare Tax and Self-Employment

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Complicated (at least to me) tax situation [ 1 Answers ]