Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    darmok Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 17, 2006, 11:14 PM
    Someone rented my equipment - and won't give it back
    I'm an amateur filmmaker (mostly as a hobby), and when I'm not using my equipment, I occasionally rent it out to other local amateur filmmakers. I have a rental agreement form the renter needs to fill out, and do my best to evaluate the renter before letting the equipment go.

Last week I rented a microphone and some accessories (approx. $500 worth) to a woman who has not returned it, and is doing her best to not answer the phone when I call or return any calls or emails. She lives about 20 miles from me. The gear was to be rented for 2 days, and it's been over a week since it was due back.

I have the rental agreement and made many honest attempts to contact her to no avail (aside from leaving messages). I know now that she is avoiding me.

My question is this: do I go to the police and file a theft report and give them her information, or do I need to take this up in small claims court?

Any other helpful suggestions are appreciated - but yes, I am taking further steps to safeguard my stuff in the future!
    CaptainForest Posts: 3,645, Reputation: 393
    Ultra Member

Feb 17, 2006, 11:19 PM
    Yes.

Go the police and file a report.

Don't get your hopes up though as they probably won't do anything but issue the report.
    Then you need to take her to small claims court. But make sure you have the police report filed first.

Maybe you will get lucky and she will get scared when the police go to her home that she gives them the equipment and says “it was a misunderstanding”.

Feb 17, 2006, 11:41 PM
    One quick followup: The renter lives in a different city & county than I; do I file the report where it was rented, or where the renter lives? Thanks.
    Ultra Member

Feb 18, 2006, 12:02 AM
    Go to your local police station.

Ask them. If you are suppose to go to the other city, they will know.