Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    yannan Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 13, 2008, 03:46 PM
    Urgent: single F1 student, received 1099 MISC due to CPT
    Dear tax expert,

I am a Chinese student under F1 visa, single female. This is my second year in the States(NY). In addition to W-2 and 1042-S, I also received 1099-G this year. At the same time I received two 1099-INT forms from two banks with very small amount, which I know that this is not taxable.

Now the form which makes me feel really confused is the form 1099-MISC. I received this from due to my CPT(Curricular practical training) job in a local church service. The amount is $2,100.

I don't know how to deal with the 1099-MISC. Which form shall I use, 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ? I heard that if you are a single nonresident alien, you only need to use 1040NR-EZ, is that correct? Also, I review some of the questions and answers in the website, I am wondering what is the schedule C? Where can I obtain it?

My last question is I also need to fill in the form IT-2 and IT-203 for NY state tax return. I have no idea about how to apply the amount showing in 1099-MISC to these two forms.

I sincerely appreciate if you can answer my question at your earliest convenience. There are only two days left. Thanks very much!

Best,
    Yannan
    asn234 Posts: 17, Reputation: 1

Apr 13, 2008, 07:49 PM
    I believe you'll have to use 1040NR. I think you list the $2100 income in line 13 under Business Income or Loss. For the IT201, you list the income under line 6 (Business Income or Loss). You will probably fill out a Schedule C. Include a copy of the federal schedule C with your state taxes. Not sure if you file Form 1040, Schedule SE. Hope this helps a little.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 13, 2008, 08:02 PM