Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    goelvicky Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Feb 12, 2006, 11:35 AM
    Standard deduction for H1B/OPT
    I cannot decide if I am eligible to claim the $5000 (or 4850?) standard deduction. I was on an F-1 visa until Sep 30 this year (on OPT from June 29 - Sep 30). I have been on H1-B since Oct 1. I suppose that means I count as a non-resident for tax purposes.

Now, according to pub 519, student/business apprentices who are residents of india (which I am) can claim the standard deduction of $5000 (or 4850?). I am wondering if I qualify. Since I have been a student for 9 of the 12 months in 2005

I will appreciate some pointers to answer this
    THanks
    Vikas
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 12, 2006, 10:06 PM
    Vikas:

You are not a non-resident alien; you are a dual-status alien. If you choose to file the dual-status tax return, you will be able to claim the standard deduction.
    sbbb49 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 25, 2011, 10:20 AM
    Hi
    I am on f1 visa on opt up to nov 2010 and on oct 1st2010 I got h1b visa
    My question is wich form I have to file 1040nr ez or 1040nr!
    What are the deduction I am eligible for! I am from india and never went india since I got my f1 visa in 2008
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jan 25, 2011, 12:11 PM

If you are not married, file nonresident tax return. You can use treaty deduction for your OPT income. Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 26, 2011, 09:43 AM
    Agreed; file as a non-resident alien, filing Form 1040NR-EZ and Form 8843 ONE LAST TIME.
    manjiri_musale Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 9, 2012, 05:05 AM
    Hi,