Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mysteryperson123 Posts: 125, Reputation: 7

Apr 10, 2008, 08:24 AM
    Is my rat ill?
    I was told by someone who had once owned rats that you could bathe your rats. I put my rat Lady Schloer in the water for about 20 seconds to let her get the feel. I dried her off and put her in her cage. She has a sloppy bit of poo on her bum. I was wondering, is she ill or is it maybe the fact that she was in water that made the poo sloppy? I am new to rat keeping. Please help.
    templelane Posts: 1,177, Reputation: 227
    Ultra Member

Apr 10, 2008, 09:01 AM
    Generally you don't need to wash rats as they are clean animals that groom themselves. If they are looking dirty it means you need to change their bedding more frequently/ wash their hammocks. That being said I don't think it can do them much harm (unlike hamsters which can get pnemonia).

What have you been feeding her lately? Has it been a lot of green veg?

I'm not really sure how to tell if the washing and the soft faeces are connected other than to watch and see if it gets worse/ happens again without washing.

That being said here is a page to cheer you up:-

How to properly launder your rats (joke)

Apr 10, 2008, 09:04 AM
    Thanks, I have not ever fed her green vegetables or fruit. The only thing I have given her since I got her is rat food.

I am just going to check on her. Thanks for that rat laundry page, it was very funny and it cheered me up.
    Ultra Member

Apr 10, 2008, 09:09 AM
    Hmm

Is she showing any signs of discomfot or distress? Is she eating and drinking normally?
    Why did you wash her was she looking dirty? - This could be a sign she isn't caring for herself properly due to illness.

Did she seem stressed by the bathing, stress can cause diarrhea.

If she seems healthy just keep an eye on her, it could have just been the water like you suggested.

Apr 10, 2008, 09:12 AM