Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    DMA Posts: 114, Reputation: 8

Apr 10, 2008, 05:06 AM
    It's raining outside, what to do to get in shape?
    So it's raining, I'm stuck indoors with nothing to do. Usually I would just go for a walk. I want to loose fat and increase muscle (loose 5-10KG of fat at least). Don't think walking for an hour is going to do it on it's own.

Pushups - I can do about 10 without too much fuss. Pretty lame but I'm definitely getting stronger. Situps I can do. Need some ideas for other exercises (I'm new to this lol). Maybe something for the legs?

Diet - Trying to watch what I eat more. I found I eat loads of bread is that bad? I would just snack on bread and butter when I was hungry between meals. Plus I used to skip breakfast. Now I'm snacking on raisins (and raisins for breakfast). Trying to drink more water as well. For main meal should I leave out the roast potatoes? Not sure how bad they are. No choc, biscuits, cake, alcohol - that was easy. Giving up caffeine is not. I cut it down from 3 big cups of tea a day to 1. Should I cut it down more?
    templelane Posts: 1,177, Reputation: 227
    Ultra Member

Apr 10, 2008, 05:26 AM
    Skipping is great (and cheap) if you can get the hang of it and get fast. Whether you can do it indoors depends on the space you have though!

I wouldn't worry too much about the caffeine most of the research is flately contradictory anyway. A recent (good) research paper showed that drinking tea was actually healthier than water. The important thing is you are getting enough fluids.

Don't just eat bread and butter as you will be hungry again really quicky, you are better to add some protein such as lean ham. Also use margarine spread rather than real butter if you do not already and swap white for wholemeal.

I'd up the amount you eat for breakfast. Try something based on complex carbohydrates.

Replace roast veg with mashed or boiled, roast potatoes are pretty much covered in fat.