Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    myri Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Feb 11, 2006, 03:11 AM
    How to write an essay for short story
    Hello I'm a student ,soon I'll have an exam in literature fiction.I wanted to know how to write an analyse of a short story
    phillysteakandcheese Posts: 973, Reputation: 356

Feb 11, 2006, 03:52 PM
    First - Actually read the story through once or twice.

Second - Read the story again and make notes about it: Is it purely entertainment? Are there parallels to modern society or history? Is there a lesson being taught?

Third - Organize your notes into the body of your essay. Go back if you need to site “proof” about your conclusions. When you go to write about each paragraph or section, you can expand on the ideas you've captured in your notes.
    CaptainForest Posts: 3,645, Reputation: 393
    Ultra Member

Feb 11, 2006, 04:08 PM
    First, read the question. What is it that its asking you to analyze?

Then, read the story once through.

Then, read the story a second time, making notes.
    myri Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Feb 13, 2006, 07:56 AM
    Thanks ,man I hope it will be helpful to me
    zoe6611 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 12, 2010, 07:45 PM
    Q: OK but I am still confused?
    Cheryth Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 4, 2013, 09:02 AM
    I hope this will help you. :)

1/- Analyze and identify
    You need to first analyze the story that has been given to you. Evaluate and analyze the characters, the plot and the core idea of the short story. Also identify the theme that the writer is trying to convey in his/her story. Note down the opinions of several literature critics and how they have evaluated and reviewed the story in depth. You will be able to find plenty of materials on the internet. By gathering and analyzing all these opinions, you will be able to write your essay comprehensively.

2/- Understand your research work