Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nickdgr8 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 11, 2006, 01:43 AM
    How to connect two computers??
    Hi Everybody..
    I'm new to computers.. n I've got two computers at home with windows xp running on them. I would like to know how to connect them to each other. I've got no NIC card and no cross over cable. Let me know the things I need them to connect. And secondly if I would like to connect them wirelessly, which things I need and how to connect.. Thank You
    cajalat Posts: 469, Reputation: 66

Feb 11, 2006, 04:18 AM
    nickdgr8,

I think you've hit on the most common solutions on your own. The fact that you don't have a built-in NIC implies that you have an older system running perhaps an older version OS (I could be wrong). So you may need to consider the support your HW/SW will provide to any new HW you purchase. i.e. check to make sure that your HW/OS will support whatever you end up purchasing. There are really two major/common options available to you: Wired or Wireless. You can purchase two wired NICs or two wireless PCI NICs and get your machines connected via cross-over cable (for wired) or Peer-to-Peer wireless. These two solutions meet your simple "get connected" needs. If that's what you want then I would strongly recommend against wireless and for the wired solution as the wireless solution in this case is very insecure.