Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    fiona_louise Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 16, 2003, 04:24 PM
    Italian Cookery
    For a part of my food technology course I'm studying continental foods but mainly focusing on Italian cookery.
    To get a good grade I will need to design and make a good unusual italian dish , but I'm unfortunate to find one as yet as I only come across the standard italian dishes e.g. Pastas and pizzas.
    I would be very grateful if anyone could e-mail me with an unusaul or rare italian recipe or even just the name and a description of the dish.
    This would be very helpful even if it is not of use I can still use this for my design ideas.
    Fiona
    andrea Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Aug 21, 2003, 07:29 PM
    Italian Cookery
    Well Fiona there are many authentic Italian dishes. What would you like?
    Most food is peasant dishes. My grandparents who have recently passed at the age of 86 & 100 were Calabraze Italian from Calabria.
    I remember when my father-in-law who was a council man at the time went to visit them to see if their snowplwing by the city was getting done, they were just eating their lunch, asked him if he would join them. He said yes and enjoyed every bite. Next day I found out from my mother they had for lunch fried pigs ears, and salad.
    They ate from the garden summer and winter.
    We live in Ontario Canada, which is a lot of snow, shows you that they put down their gardens for the winter.
    On Christmas eve we always had fish, which at grandmas was squid in a tomato sauce ( tasted like chicken ) and Baccala which is dried cod> They also simmer that in a tomato sauce . Or they pan fried it after they rehydrate itfor a few days in cold water.
    We always had luopini which is a bean they rehydrate them in salt water for days, and them highly salt them. My sister liked those I never did. You just popped the shell and ate them .

In the summer zucchini is always around in the garden.