Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    markymark222 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 5, 2008, 09:42 PM
    US Resident traveling to Canada
    I am a US resident wanting to travel to Canada by car for a summer vacation this year 2008.
    Will I need a passport to travel into Canada and then coming back from Canada.
    I will be travelling in June in 2008 and crossing in Minnesota.
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Apr 5, 2008, 10:27 PM
    I live in Canada and as far as I know you do need a passport. Enjoy your vacation.
    jillianleab Posts: 1,194, Reputation: 279
    Ultra Member

Apr 6, 2008, 08:33 PM
    According to this article: Passport Requirements at the Canada Border - Do Americans Need a Passport to Visit Canada?, if you are driving across, no, you do not need a passport, but you DO have to prove citizenship. You may do so with your birth certificate or a passport. With either, you MUST have a photo ID.

Here's a link from the US State Department's website: Canada, you can find more info there. The site for Canada was down when I checked, but there will be further info there.

Enjoy your trip!
    rsc1117 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jun 29, 2008, 12:13 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by markymark222
    I am a US resident wanting to travel to Canada by car for a summer vacation this year 2008.
    Will I need a passport to travel into Canada and then coming back from Canada.
    I will be travelling in June in 2008 and crossing in Minnesota.
    To my knowlegde you only need a passsport if you fly into Canada. Driving, no pp required.
    katie20 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 2, 2008, 11:27 AM
    As of June 09 Both Canadians and Americans will need passports to drive to and from each country. Right now it is only air travel that requires a passport.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.