Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hammock Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 4, 2008, 11:45 AM
    Compensation for Care Giver
    I have been caring for my brother for several years. Taking him to Doctor, lab and other medical test, his Probation Reporting office. I pick up his meds, food, purchase clothes etc. This is putting a financial burden on me as I miss lots of time from work. Can I receive compensation from him for this and is so at what rate?
    Hammock
    George_1950 Posts: 3,099, Reputation: 236
    Ultra Member

Apr 4, 2008, 11:54 AM
    Welcome to AMHD; how much is your time worth? Have you asked him for compensation? Does he have a source of income? You may be able to talk to someone in a nearby church and locate a volunteer.
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Apr 4, 2008, 11:54 AM
    Did you have some sort of previous agreement before that he would reimburse you for the costs? If you've voluntairily been taking care of him with not agreement that he would pay you back I would think not.
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Apr 4, 2008, 11:57 AM
    You can ask him for compensation to do these errands for him. Talk to him about this and see what he feels is fair. After all gasoline these days is out of this world and your car sure drinks plenty running around doing all these errands for him. Does he have some kind of regular income that he can pay you something out of? Also, if he will not pay you anything to do these things, you might suggest that he contact a taxi cab service to ferry him around to his appointments during the day when you have to work or hire a neighbor that does not work to ferry him around to dr and probation reporting, etc. You have a job that should come first as you have to eat and pay your bills first. See what he says to that arrangement.
    hammock Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 4, 2008, 12:05 PM