Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Mar 31, 2008, 04:42 PM
    New auto insurance
    I've been driving for two years now but only as an additional driver on my aunt and uncle's so my car insurance has been reasonably priced. But now I'm looking into buying a new car and even with all of the possible discounts my current insurance company (state farm) wants to nearly double that price for a BEST case scenario. The worst case is just under triple my current amount... so now I'm looking into finding a new insurance company. But I have no idea where to start at all. So any and all advice or tips are welcome. Thanks
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Mar 31, 2008, 05:51 PM
    You could ask friends, parents of your friends, who they use for car insurance, or go on line and get quotes from different sources. Access google.com and just start phoning and writing if you want to find the best quote. Or, try your local telephone book and start calling.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Mar 31, 2008, 06:09 PM
    Check out online rates with several companies, just be sure you are listing the same coverages.

And depending on the state and other issues, for example for myself here in GA, State Farm is the lowest cost I can find, and it was also the lowest cost in TN for me.

But when I moved from TN to GA, the cost of my insurance doubled, just because of the higher rates to live in Metro Atlanta area.

So where you live will effect your rates also,

I do remember when my boys were younger, we changed from State Farm back then since their rates for younger drivers where higher at that time.

Also check out your independent insurance agents, who often may have some good companies with good rates.

But YES, a younger driver with a new car, is going to be a lot higher than as an addition to another policy. Twice as high is not really out of line or uncommom.