Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cazed23 Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Feb 7, 2006, 09:02 AM
    TV Picture Problems
    I have a Phillips TV (afraid I don't know the model off the top of my head) and sometimes when Im watching it there seems to be a patch on the left hand side that is yellowy green in colour the picture is still clear but whatever moves in this patch is yellowy green does anyone know why this happens or let me know how to stop it happening in future? :confused:
    colbtech Posts: 748, Reputation: 66

Feb 7, 2006, 09:34 AM
    Is the TV sited by a speaker or other magnetic device. Magnets cause this sort of problem. Can easily be shown by putting a magnetised screwdriver close to the front of the screen.

Is this an old TV? When I worked in the trade I used to regularly gave to take a degaussing machine out to the home and run this over the set.

Failing that maybe the set is just shot!

Feb 8, 2006, 04:11 AM
    Hi there, the TV isn't a year old but it does sit in a unit with my stereo on the shelf above its only a little one with a speaker either side do you think this is why it happens? Maybe I should move it eh?
    Thank you for your help.

Feb 8, 2006, 08:34 AM
    Moved it, and (touch wood) it hasn't happened since. Thank you again it had been bugging me for ages.
    foss1 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 22, 2006, 09:01 PM
    I also have a picture problem on a JVC flat screen model AV-37F703. I am getting some half moon green spots in both upper corners. Any ideas besides having speakers too close. The TV is 3 years old and we have added no new speakers, etc.
    colbtech Posts: 748, Reputation: 66

Apr 24, 2006, 12:46 AM
    Hi Foss1 and welcome to the forum.

My guess is that either the television needs de-gaussing. This is a device that produces a high powered magnetic field to clear this sort of problem. Generally your local TV repair man should be able to sort it, but it doies involve a call-out charge.