Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SimpleTechie Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 27, 2008, 01:15 AM
    Tuition fees paid for F-1 Visa holder - deductible or not?
    Hi,

I am a resident alien for tax purposes. My brother was in graduate school in 2007. He is on F-1 Visa and therefore not a resident alien for tax purposes. Thus, I cannot claim him as a dependent.

I paid for his fees and expenses. Can I deduct this fees from my taxable income since I paid for it anyway? Is this possible?

Appreciate any feedback...

Regards
    SimpleTechie
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Mar 27, 2008, 03:10 AM
    A dependent must be a citizen or resident. F-1 visa is exempt from residency for 5 years.

Apr 2, 2008, 11:07 PM
    Can I claim him as a qualifying relative?

IRS website: Section 152(d)(1)

(A) bear a certain relationship to the taxpayer -- BROTHER
    (B) have gross income for the calendar year that is less than the exemption amount (as defined in section 151(d)) -- YES
    (C) derive over one-half of his or her support for the calendar year from the taxpayer -- YES
    152(d)(1)(D) requires that the individual not be a qualifying child of the taxpayer or of “any other taxpayer” for the taxable year -- YES

Is the residency requirement for qualifying relative 183 days or just "some" part of the year? What's the definition for residency in this context?

Regards
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 3, 2008, 12:06 AM
    A dependent must meet: Joint Return Test, Dependent Taxpayer Test and Citizen or Residency Test.

A dependent can be your qualifying child or qualifying relative. Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: Requirements for claiming a dependent

Apr 3, 2008, 12:20 AM
    MukatA:

I met with a tax advisor at H & R Block. She showed me company documentation for qualifying relative.

Residency test read as follows - the person must have been a resident for "some" part of the year.