Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tax_calculate Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Feb 4, 2006, 03:54 PM
    Self on H1 and spouse on H4. Filing tax first time
    Hi,
    I have come to US on H1B in Oct 2005. This is the first time I will be filing my taxes. I have a SSN no. I am a software engineer working in CT, USA.

My spouse is on H4 and joined me in Dec 2005. We don't have any children.

From what I have understood after reading other related links in this forum, that my spouse has to fill W7 form and that has to be sent to PA IRS office along with my federal tax returns. IRS office will give ITIN to my spouse which I will use on my state return form? Is that so ? My federal taxes will get filled when I apply for my spouse's ITIN number ? No ITIN number of my spouse is required for filing my federal returns ?

2) I want to know what form do I need to download to file my federal tax returns and from where can I get the form ?

3) IRS office will take about 4-6 weeks to give me ITIN no after they receive W& form with federal returns. I will use that ITIN number to fill my state returns ? What form will I need for filing state returns. From where can I donwload the form to file state returns? I have been staying and working in CT since Oct 2005.
    Will I be able to file my state taxes online or will I have to send the filled form in a mail to IRS office after getting the ITIN number ?

4) My tax filing status will be what ? Married and Filing jointly ?

Thanks
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 4, 2006, 11:52 PM
    TC:

It's easiest to answer in reverse order!

4) Assuming your wife does not work, you file Married Filing Jointly.

3) Check out the CT state government website to get the correct form. You need to wait until you get your wife's ITIN back from the IRS before filing the CT form, so you have time to figure out which form to file.

2) Almost 100% sure you can file Form 1040EZ.