Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    frustrated-one Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 21, 2008, 06:33 AM
    Is this a Violation of Hippa or my right to privacy
    I am a respected healthcare professional. I visit patients in their homes 40 hours per week and have been doing so for years. I am therefore acquainted with a very large number of people in the community. Recently I went to a clinic to be evaluated for Health Care. I was told that the Dr. (Surgeon) would not treat me unless I attended a Support group with approximately 200 other people with the same problem. I feel like attending would jeopardize my integrity in the community and is a violation of my right to privacy but if I don't attend I will be denied medical care. Any suggestions?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Mar 21, 2008, 06:40 AM
    Well its not a HIPAA violation, that's for sure. No one providing you health care is discussing your diagnosis or treatement with someone else without your permission.

My feeling here is that the doctor feels participating in that group is a necessary part of your treatment for whatever the problem is. I think he's within his rights to require it. Just like he could refuse to treat you if you refuse to take some medication he thinks necessary for the treatment.

I think your best option is to get a second opinion. You may question the surgeon's requirements to your local medical board, but I suspect he's got that covered.

Mar 22, 2008, 12:33 PM
    Did you check if participant's in the group sign a confidentiality agreement? Even though youj may think you are participating involuntarily, that's not the case. You have a choice to not participate, but that means not getting treatment. So your partiicpation would be deemed voluntary and therefore, any discussion of diagnosis and treatment would be voluntary.

Mar 24, 2008, 11:11 AM