Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Neocortex Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 20, 2008, 03:37 PM
    Can a green card holder claim a tax treaty benefit for a fellowship?
    Hi,
    I am a German citizen who came to the US in Dec 2006 on a green card that I won in the diversity lottery. I have been working here as a postdoctoral researcher since January 2007. My only source of income is a fellowship from a german research foundation.
    Can I still claim the tax treaty benefit for the scholarship as a foreign national, even though I am also taxed here as a resident?
    Being confronted with the US tax system for the first time I am a little confused. If the tax treaty does not apply to my case, do I also have to expect a penalty for not having paid estimated taxes on my income during 2007?
    Thank you very much for all your answers in advance!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Mar 21, 2008, 12:07 AM
    Since you have a green card, you can't claim treaty benefit. You must file resident tax return for 2007. You will get standard deduction and exemption deduction and all deductions available to citizens or residents.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Should I benefit from Tax treaty between US and China? [ 16 Answers ]

Dear Help Desk: I am a postdoc in life sciences. I came here from China in 1999 as a F1 student and now hold H1B visa. Our payroll still files W9 form for me which claims the tax-treaty Article 20(c) - $5000 is tax-free. I am just wondering whether this is correct. Thank you very much.

J1 resident alien - tax treaty - fellowship Germany [ 1 Answers ]