Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pinke_v Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2006, 09:46 PM
    Tax Treaty instructions
    Hi,

I am an Indian national and am trying to apply for the personal + standard deduction as outlined in the US-India tax treaty. As I was going through the instruction booklet for tax treaties (Pub 901), it states the following:

"The exemption does not apply to payments borne by a permanent establishment
    in the United States or paid by a U.S. citizen or resident, the U.S. Government, or any of its agencies, instrumentalities, political subdivisions, or local authorities."

I studied at the University of Massachusetts, which is a government body (state university). Does this mean that I cannot claim the said deductions?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks for your time.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 2, 2006, 10:12 PM
    What is your visa status?
    pinke_v Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2006, 10:16 PM
    I was F1 for the entire part of 2005, even though I graduated in June 2005 and was on an OPT job from July onwards.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 2, 2006, 10:33 PM
    Pinke:

Yes, you can claim both the personal exemption and the standard deduction.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Hampton Bay Carriage house ceilliing fan instructions [ 9 Answers ]

I am trying to install this ceilling fan, but I can not get the fan to bolt onto the mounting bracket. The bowl that fits around the bracket is getting in the way. Does anybody have a suggestion? I do not have intsructions to do this install.

Dish,vcr,dvd,cable to TV shcematic/instructions,please. [ 2 Answers ]