Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SPST Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 11, 2008, 08:13 AM
    Tax 2007for f1-opt status student married to resident alien
    Hi,
    I am on F1-OPT status. I am married to a canadian national, who is resident alien in USA for tax purposes. I did not have any SSN and MEDICARE TAXES withheld from my paycheck as I am a non resident alien in USA.
    While filing taxes for year 2007, as I was married on dec 31, 2007,Can I file my tax jointly with my husband as a resident alien.
    Does it not conflict with my status as a NON RESIDENT ALIEN which I mentioned in the FORM W4?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 28, 2008, 01:39 PM
    Yes, you can file jointly with your spouse, as long as you sign and attach a statement to the return stating that you CHOOSE to be treated as a resident alien for all of 2007 and you declare ALL 2007 world-wide income on your tax return.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Dual Status Married Filing Jointly? Or Treaty-Based Single Non-Resident Alien? [ 1 Answers ]

I worked in the US for a US company in 2006 (TN visa) for 1.5 months and filed a non-resident alien return as a single person. I worked in 2007 in the US until the end of August (still on TN visa), then returned home to Canada and worked for a Canadian employer for the rest of the year. I had a...

Tax for F-1 visa on OPT with tax treaty, resident alien for tax purpose [ 2 Answers ]

HI--I have multiple "identities" with regard to tax: 1. I'm an F-1 visa holder 2. I'm on OPT from Sept.2007-Aug.2008 3. I have benefits of tax treaty, under which I can be exempted from federal taxes up to $5000 a year for wages, and unlimited amount for fellowship 4. I'm a resident alien for...